United sector secures late changes to PIP Regulations

Following sustained pressure by members of the Hardest Hit Coalition, Spartacus and other campaigners, the DWP has agreed to require PIP assessors to consider whether claimants can perform activities to an acceptable standard, safely, repeatedly, and in a reasonable time period.

These requirements are now in the PIP Regulations currently before Parliament. Previously they were only in the guidance for assessors and would therefore have carried significantly less weight when decisions are made about eligibility.

This is an important breakthrough and means there is much less reason to fear the introduction of the 20m cut-off for eligibility for higher rate mobility of PIP.

Over 750 of you used the e-action on the Hardest Hit website to contact your MP and express concern over this issue and your hard work was instrumental in securing change to the assessment regulations.

Look out for the Channel 4 Dispatches programme on PIP – due to be broadcast in the next week or so.

Read the Department of Work and Pensions press release confirming the incorporation of “safely, reliably, repeatedly and in a reasonable time period.” into PIP assessment regulations

18 thoughts on “United sector secures late changes to PIP Regulations

  1. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THE STAFF OF D/L/A AND MOBILITY, SUCH A LOVELY GROUP TO OF WORKED WITH, WHO HAS EVER HEARD OF D/L/A STAFF, TREATING PEOPLE AS BAD AS ATOS AND DWP, THEY WAS TRAINED AND PROFESIONAL, THIS LOT A FEW WEEKS TRAINING AND SO CRUEL AND RUDE, CAUSING MAJOR STRESS AND UPSET, THE OLD SYSTEM WAS NOT AT ALL OUT OF DATE, 1992, HOW IS THAT OUT DATED AS IV SAID THEN IT QAS A KNOWN FACT WITHIN THE LEGAL SECTION, THIS IS ONE OF THE GOVERNMENTS HIDDEN BENEFITS IM SURE SOME PEOPLE WILL REMEMBER THAT

    • Very well said my sister in law is in a care home she has just got continueing care my wife had to phone DLA Blackpool and was greeted very profesional and dealt with streight away [problem solved] so does this government want to get rid of nice and pleasent staff sounds as if they do or is it only a job to them what a shambles

  2. I AM STILL VERY CONCERNED WITH OTHER CHANGES IN THESE FORMS, SUCH AS A FLIGHT OF STAIRS IS NOW 2 STAIRS, I USED TO WORK WITHIN THE LEGAL BENEFITS SYSTEM, D/L/A WAS NEVER AN EASY BENEFIT TO CLAIM, IT WAS ONCE CLASSED AS ONE OF THE GOVERNMENTS HIDDEN BENEFITS, NOT BEING PLACED ON SHOW IN SURGERYS, CLINICS, HOSPITALS ETC, IT TOOK OVER 2 HRS TO COMPLETE, HAD TO BE SIGNED BY 2 PROFESIONALS, THE REVIEW,APPEAL, TRIBUNAL, WAS A FAIRER SWIFTER SYSTEM, BUT CERTAINLY NO PUSH OVER, NOT EVEN 1 PER CENT OF FRAUD HAS BEEN REPORTED WITH THIS BENEFIT, EVEN MOTABILITY AND D/L/A, WAS PLEASENT, HAD COMPASSION, CAN YOU IMAGINE HOW THIS NEW SYSTEM WILL OPERATE, NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO STOP HAVING THE RECALLS, THIS ONE CHANGE IS WELCOME, BUT HONESTLY, THE FLAWS IN THE NEW FORMS, HAVE BEEN OVER LOOKED, ON TOP OF ALL THE EXTREME DISTRESS AND MISERY, PLACED ON GENUINELY SICK AND DISABLED, I PREDICY THIS WILL CONTINUE, THEY SHOULD NEVER OF TOUCHED D/L/A YOU WILL REMENBER MY WORDS IN THE FUTURE BUT WELL DONE EVERY ONE WHO CHANGED ONE SECTION

  3. Sounds ok but does that mean that Pats Petition is going to be no longer needed as her meeting was for Wednesday also i have heard that pip for long term claiments only start in October 2015 after the next election some disabled people are still very worried about this pip as when they came ill and went on DLA like myself i was 44 years old next week i will be 57 my illness not getting any better can you tell me when and how this will affect me please

    • The campaigners behind Pat’s Petition are meeting Liam Byrne (Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary) tomorrow to push for Labour to support calls for a cumulative assessment of the impact of the Government’s welfare reforms, this would still be a highly valuable and useful body of work. You are right that PIP reassessment for most claiamants will not start until October 2015 but assessments for new claimants will be starting later this year and also reassessment will start to take place in a number of pilot areas in the North-East and North-West regions. Sorry I can’t comment on how the move to PIP will affect your individual situation but there are many organisations listed in our “supporters and where to get help section” (https://thehardesthit.wordpress.com/about/supporters-and-where-to-get-help/) that will be able to give you advice.

      • Thank you very much for getting back t me i very much apreciate it so all we can do is prey for Pats Petiton for tomorrow thank you once again

  4. I was more than happy to enter the campaign,though I couldn’t take an ‘active’ role. I suffer Primary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis (which is guaranteed to worsen) and loss of my Motability vehicle, along with my bankruptcy,divorce and poor support network, would certainly make me housebound – after a long,active life teaching Primary school,Climbing and Caving.
    2 weeks ago my problems were suddenly added to by an attack of what my M S Nurse believes to be Sciatica worsened by nerve damage from the MS. I found myself on Codeine, Morphine, Diazapam and additional pain relief which have had little impact on my seriously limited movement.
    It dawned on me then that the new reforms would have overlooked such ‘paroxysmal’ events and sudden needs such as 2 doctors appointments,1 psychiatric nurse appointment, 1 Podiatrist appointment, 1 appointment at Birmingham re-hab centre, a call to Walsall Manor Hospital by NHS Direct and (unimportant to some people) an appointment to the vet, would have simply been IMPOSSIBLE just because some days I can walk,dress,etc so I’m theoretically doing FINE.
    What I don’t see is why,if a professionally qualified consultant carries out tests (Lumbar Puncture, MRI scans and CTScans) which CANNOT be lied about and which fill my medical records, it is impossible to believe them rather than spending HUGE amounts of time and cash on further assessments !!!
    Each day Jeremy Kyle is full of unemployed parents with large families who, by their own admission on TV, drink every evening, take a variety of drugs, own all the modern technology and feel absolutely NO guilt. I AM chronically ill, will never cease to be so and,from the first time I signed on, have felt guilty as I was bought up to work.
    What happens then? The government ignore the wasters,switch their attention to those less able to fight back and pile enormous stress and worry onto the people most effected and least able to cope.
    YES,of course I was glad to support the campaign,because I actually doubt my ability to get through much more !!!

    Thanks for what you’re doing,you are the hope for those weakened and ‘bullied’,

    Adrian Horne BSc (Hons) P.G.C.E.

    • Hi Adrian
      Keep your chin up and I hopefully after the next general election this lot of showers will not be in power. My husband, is disabled left that way after a routine operation, we have never had a sorry out of the hospital let alone compensation, in fact the surgeon said the operation had been a success. I work full time and I also do a part time job, this is just to keep us going, under the new rules I doubt wether my husband will qualifiy so he will be housebound and for hospital appointments etc I will have to take time of work to make sure that he is safe on public transport etc, if the reforms of the NHS were to put patients first, why are the assessments not done by or taken from hospital, GP notes as they give the true picture of the person, not these demeaning tests that are carried out by people who have a vested interest in failing everybody as they get paid for these results and the government is not going back to collect the money when the appeal is successful.

      • Hi gill i definatly agree with you we dont want this dont care shower in again 2015 is not coming quick enough we are dreading the budget as we know he will be attacking us disabled people again roll on 2015

      • Hi Gill,
        Thank you for your reply. Please excuse my continuation, if it is somewhat less lucid, but with my M.S. joined by C.O.P.D. and severe Sciatica – I am now on medication which contains Codeine,Morphine,Diazepam,Amitryptaline and also over the counter painkillers, all of which leave me housebound and unable to see my only grandson as I am easily confused.
        I was interested to see that your husbands MS started after a ‘Minor’,’run of the mill’ operation, as this was the starting point for my PPMS and I was also pleased to see that you were like-minded about the time/money saving aspect of ‘Medical records’ as a source of information on those with genuine benefit needs.
        I hope it all straightens out for you, and your husband, and I really believe WE are going to be the only people to achieve that, NONE of the political parties (who seem to have found a way to blame EVERYONE ELSE) seems to care,they’re too busy covering their tails for the next attack on their shortcomings !!!

    • Hi Jacqueline im just wondering how did the debate go yesterday with Liam Byrne as i have disabled friends phoning me asking how Pats Petition did yesterday sorry to bother you many thanks

Leave a Reply

